This message board is only an archive. Click here to go to the current message board.

Thread: The Perfect Roland

Lightbulb The Perfect Roland

Alright, I'm a newbie. This is my first post, so if someone has suggested this already--my bad.

I have the perfect Roland. I read on here that someone suggested Viggo Mortinsen, and I have to say that was my first choice as well until I had this surprising revelation that sent me rushing to join this site. Viggo nails most of the traits for Roland except for one small problem (pun intended). He's 5' 11''. Not a minor detail I think. Roland has to be tall. This detail is such a fundamental aspect of Roland's physicality it can't be overlooked, and would never be forgiven by readers or movie goers alike. When this movie gets made and we see the first dark silhouetted image of Roland walking through the dessert, with heat waves shimmering across his image, we want that guy to be over six feet (sorry Tom Cruise).

Mr. King's stated choice all along has been Clint Eastwood measuring in at a solid 6' 2". Now that's a Roland height I think we can all get behind, or under as it were. Clint Eastwood pretty much is Roland, and I'm thinking we were reading a different book if you can't get on board with that one. Unfortunately, he's currently 83 God bless him, and unless you're a person who likes watching old people break their hip every 5 minutes (you'd be surprised), he's not up to the physical challenges of this role.

Okay, enough preamble. Here it is: Daniel Day Lewis