Warning: Function split() is deprecated in ..../includes/class_bootstrap.php(561) : eval()'d code on line 1
I'm sad because of this story.....

This message board is only an archive. Click here to go to the current message board.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: I'm sad because of this story.....

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    317

    Default I'm sad because of this story.....


    I am reading the last 100 or so pages of this book. I have read the book before, but I had forgotton most of it. I almost cried when

    Mattie was killed
    . I wasn't expecting it, not exactly. I knew something bad was going to happen, but I didn't expect that. It left me feeling kinda crappy for a few days after I read it. Does anyone else get like this?

    Also reading about how

    Mike was planning a suicide
    ......
    Horrible!!! I'm glad he didn't do it.
    So what do you guys think?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Austin, Texas
    Posts
    32

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    I don't remember a lot of that book . . . its been a few years sinse I've read it. I do remember it really changed the way I looked at SK, though. It's a beautifully complex story - not only in it's plot and details, but in the wide and various emotions it put me through. (IT was similar, in that respect, but there was something about the writing wasn't as mature (?) or as masterful of the craft, though the story was probably better and more entertaining).
    I had always loved SK, but after that story and a few after it, I've come to consider him the lastest in that line of truelly great storytellers in the tradition of Dickens and Twain. Sinse then I've never had a reservation about making an arguement for SK as America's greatest novel writer (yes, including stienbeck, hemmingway, ect.).

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Salem, Or.
    Posts
    284

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    Yeah, this is one of the most moving books I've ever read for sure.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    a place where its always 4 past midnite
    Posts
    105

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    It didn't bother me so much when I read it, but when I listened to the audiobook(narrated by sai King) it realy hit home.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Tator Road on the outskirts of Pumpkin Center, Hoosierland, USA
    Posts
    247

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    After what happened

    to Mattie,
    I put the book down, stormed around the house and cussed for a while before picking it up again. I think when a novel provokes that type of action from the readers (at least this reader), it is a success. Like you, I'm glad Mike reconsidered.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    317

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    Quote Originally Posted by scarywriter View Post
    It didn't bother me so much when I read it, but when I listened to the audiobook(narrated by sai King) it realy hit home.
    Is Stephen the one reading it? I bet that would be awesome to hear.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    317

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    I agree with you Fredo.......It's good to know that I wasn't the only one that was deeply influenced by this book.
    If a story can make you react that way, or in any way, whether it be sadness, anger or joy, then the writer has completed their task.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    a place where its always 4 past midnite
    Posts
    105

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Jingles View Post
    Is Stephen the one reading it? I bet that would be awesome to hear.
    It is Stephen and he does a fantastic job of reading it. I listened to it in my jeep and found myself finding excuses to drive around and taking longer routes to get places just to listen.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    Quote Originally Posted by fredo View Post
    After what happened

    to Mattie,
    I put the book down, stormed around the house and cussed for a while before picking it up again. I think when a novel provokes that type of action from the readers (at least this reader), it is a success. Like you, I'm glad Mike reconsidered.
    I had a similar reaction when reading The Dark Tower

    when Eddie dies.
    It actually upset me.

    Anyway, this was a very good book. I read it this year.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    59

    Default Re: I'm sad because of this story.....

    I just read this one about a week ago. I found it to be really creepy in the beginning, then it just got really sad. I actually found myself thinking about the book as i was doing things at work, etc, and it kind of bothered my sleep pattern, lol.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. The cat story in Just After Sunset
    By Faithful in forum Just After Sunset
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: October 12th, 2013, 07:18 AM
  2. True story
    By shempnj in forum The Dark Half
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: January 16th, 2013, 07:45 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •