Novels like the Dark Tower

Discussion in 'General Discussion & Questions' started by unclelouie, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. unclelouie
    Offline

    unclelouie Active Member

    Was curious if there are any other novels similar to The Dark Tower by other authors? I know the DT series is a one of a kind, but I'd be interested to know if anything comes close at all?

    Also, as far as SK's universe goes... what are some suggestions outside of the DT novels proper that are related to the DT, or similar to. I think I've already read em' all though. Eyes of the Dragon, Talisman, Black House, Hearts in Atlantis, The Stand... read em' all!
    blunthead, doowopgirl, Neesy and 4 others like this.
  2. Walter Oobleck
    Offline

    Walter Oobleck keeps coming back...or going, and going, and going

    I think...in that essay, whatever the title, On Nineteen...or On Being Nineteen...or somewhere else, King mentions Tolkien's work...as well as those who came after. I think he wrote about Donaldson's stories. Years ago I began to read The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, Stephen Donaldson. I'd read the 1st four as they came out. I enjoyed the stories. When I've gone to a used bookstore, I've looked for them again. Don't recall offhand the title of the first one, Lord Foul's Bane? Used copies must not sit around...and I don't really want to buy new. Had the 1st 3 in paperback, the 4th in hardcover. You could read a couple hundred or more reviews at Goodreads, be my guess, and the reviews are likely all over the board. But maybe if you read the description included by the publisher and a review or two, you can get a feel for whether or not the story is something you like. How about Dune? Have you read Rose Madder? At a glance at your list...I think that one should be included.
    blunthead, SHEEMIEE, Neesy and 2 others like this.
  3. skimom2
    Offline

    skimom2 Just moseyin' through...

    Yeah, Walter is spot on with Tolkein and Donaldson--'quest' sagas. or scope of story, you can't go wrong with Martin's "Game of Thrones" series. I've really enjoyed that one.
    blunthead, Neesy and GNTLGNT like this.
  4. Bryan James
    Offline

    Bryan James Well-Known Member

    Robert Jordan's "Wheel of Time" series was pretty dang epic...so much that I grew out of it. I think he actually died out of it, but the first many books were quite fun.
  5. Waylander
    Offline

    Waylander Active Member

    As far as the DT series goes try reading the Jon Shannow series by David Gemmell.

    1. Wolf in Shadow
    2. Last Guardian
    3. Bloodstone

    Only a trilogy, but a few similarities to the DT series.
    blunthead, Neesy and GNTLGNT like this.
  6. GNTLGNT
    Offline

    GNTLGNT Idiot in Situ and Unholy Devourer of Cookies

    ...Dune?....
    blunthead, Waylander and Neesy like this.
  7. unclelouie
    Offline

    unclelouie Active Member

    Why do I just feel like my "to-read list" just got exponentially longer ;)
    blunthead, GNTLGNT and Neesy like this.
  8. danie
    Offline

    danie AKA danie

    Here's a pretty good deal on Amazon for the boxed set of 5 "Game of Thrones" books for Kindle. Only $19.99.
    Amazon.com: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire Series): A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons eBook: George R.R. Martin: Kindle Store
  9. unclelouie
    Offline

    unclelouie Active Member

    You guys are too much. I am never going to have a social life again. Oh wait...
    blunthead and Neesy like this.
  10. unclelouie
    Offline

    unclelouie Active Member

    I think I am going to order Game of Thrones, and also check out the Tolkein works as well. I've been told The Hobbit is the best place to start there.
    blunthead, Neesy and danie like this.
  11. Shoe
    Offline

    Shoe Ka 'n' stuff

    Here are some SK books that are DT related you seem to have left off:

    As previously mentioned Rose Madder, also Insomnia and It are major ones. There are still many more that are partial or loosely tied.
    blunthead and Neesy like this.
  12. Spideyman
    Offline

    Spideyman Uber Member

    Connections to DT
    260y87q.jpg
  13. SHEEMIEE
    Offline

    SHEEMIEE Active Member

    How about 'His Dark Materials' Pullman trilogy. It was made into a pretty lamo movie,but i actually enjoyed the 'alternate' london steampunk feel, and the switch between worlds.
    blunthead and Neesy like this.
  14. jt0565
    Offline

    jt0565 Active Member

    Try the Hyperion series by Dan Simmons.
    Neesy and blunthead like this.
  15. blunthead
    Offline

    blunthead Well-Known Member

    Neesy and Spideyman like this.

Share This Page

Faithful Deluxe Special Editions