1. New to the board or trying to figure out how something works here? Check out the User Guide.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. The message board will be closed:
    From 4pm ET November 9th to 8:30am ET November 13th.
    From 4pm ET November 15th to 8:30am ET November 20th.
    From 4pm ET November 22nd to 8:30am ET November 27th.
    As always, the Board will be open to read and those who have those privileges can still send private messages and post to Profiles.

  3. Hot Topics is open from 8:30 AM - 4 PM ET Mon - Fri.

    Dismiss Notice

Horrifying

Discussion in 'Cujo' started by Lepplady, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. AchtungBaby

    AchtungBaby Well-Known Member

    I actually watched the movie for the tenth time or so last night. It's good stuff, but the actors ARE...well...good. I feel so bad for them. :(

    But at least Tad lives in the movie... There's that.
     
  2. not_nadine

    not_nadine Comfortably Roont

    Most of Cujo took place in the dog's head also. He was a good dog that did not understand what was happening to him.

    That did not come through in the movie version. He was just a mean dog.
     
  3. Gareth

    Gareth Member

    So true! A line that stands out for me, in its tragic context, is "Tad played with the ducks".
     
  4. skimom2

    skimom2 Just moseyin' through...

    And as much as I sobbed for days over the end of the book (and I did. And I can't imagine ever reading it again--as a parent whose little guy resembles Tad a lot...no way), I loathed the end of the movie for that. It was a cockadoodie cheat, as Annie Wilkes would say.
    Water doesn't cure death.
     
    kingricefan, GNTLGNT, MikiM and 2 others like this.
  5. skimom2

    skimom2 Just moseyin' through...

    Damn it! Just thinking about this book makes me cry. Now I'm going to have a headache. *shakes fist at much younger Stephen King*
     
  6. Doc Creed

    Doc Creed Well-Known Member

    I like what Teague did with Cujo. The first 25 minutes of this movie could be a Disney movie, almost (omitting cursing and sex scenes, of course). Teague is very faithful to the novel, I think. There is a lot of tension
    with Donna trying not to get caught in her affair, and Cujo's gradual change of temperament and even the stress with Vic's losing the Sharp cereal account. Naturally, viewers are anticipating the big scenes with the Pinto dying in the Camber's yard and the subsequent climax, but these other details at the beginning are necessary and give the ending that much more meaning.
    The novel itself doesn't really switch gears until around page 120. I found the entire book fascinating and could feel King trying to achieve a contemporary novel in the vein of Philip Roth or John Updike, but in this instance the mundane and underbelly of suburban life is stripped down to a primal horror. Everything we learn beforehand is boiled down to a simmering metaphor, "the monster in the closet" that each of the character's face finally attacks and must be confronted. Adultery, rage, failed ambitions, etc must be contended with and it comes down to fight or flight. Donna Trenton, (a blue eyed brunette in the book) is the first female character to fight the 'evil' without help. More female protagonists would follow but I believe Donna Trenton was the first to go solo combat. Wendy Torrance had her brave battle but ultimately had help.
    Like Misery, this is a straightforward, non-supernatural (more or less) novel, more so in the movie. I agree with King that Dee Wallace deserved an Oscar. Her performance is as good as any Streep performance I've ever seen. Solid book, solid adaptation.
     
  7. TanyaS

    TanyaS painterly painter!

    yeah, it's a pretty uncomfortable watch. I love the first forty minutes or so, before they are trapped in the car. The build-up scenes!! Beautifully shot though!!
     
  8. TanyaS

    TanyaS painterly painter!

    If Charity Chamber had taken notice of her son re Cujo's awful condition, the whole thing would have been averted. But then there would be a very short story!!
     
    Neesy, kingricefan, GNTLGNT and 2 others like this.
  9. TanyaS

    TanyaS painterly painter!

    Dee Wallace is definately underrated. Movies like Cujo (great atmosphere etc) are never made these days!! It's all just blood and gore and no suspense.
     
    Neesy, Mel217, kingricefan and 2 others like this.
  10. TanyaS

    TanyaS painterly painter!

    why oh why did the Tadder have to die (in the book).
    Of course, it is fiction...but reads so real...my favourite characters are Charity and Brett Chamber and snooty Holly...I just find them so interesting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 5, 2016
  11. MikiM

    MikiM Active Member

    This book was probably the hardest for me to read. I bawled like a baby at the end. The movie just ticked me off. My poor boyfriend kept slumping down because I was getting madder and madder. What was funny was the couple behind us...the girl was doing the same thing. At some point, she and my boyfriend switched places, and she and I just griped about the movie together. The movie, to me, made Cujo a monster. And in the book, HE wasn't the monster...RABIES was. They couldn't translate that to the screen. Plus, they changed the ending where Thad and Donna were concerned, and that, to me, seemed cheesy and hokey. A tragedy cannot have a happy ending.
     
  12. kingricefan

    kingricefan All-being, keeper of Space, Time & Dimension.

    Hollywood would not let that movie get made with the same ending as the book. Look at the controversy concerning the ending to The Mist. Frank Darabont took a huge risk filming that ending.
     
    Neesy, Spideyman, Dana Jean and 3 others like this.
  13. not_nadine

    not_nadine Comfortably Roont

    Yes. :down: Now he is the 'horror dog' to anyone who has not read the book.

    He was such a good boy, that's all he ever wanted to be for his boy.
     
    Neesy, Spideyman, Dana Jean and 3 others like this.
  14. Doc Creed

    Doc Creed Well-Known Member

    Yeah, it definitely would be an uphill battle. I thought The Mist movie ending was perfect. Darabont is a courageous visionary and he has an ability to enhance any King book he adapts. King's thumbprint is never erased and Darabont, with a winning streak for morphing print to film, unerringly follows his artistic instincts to cinematic greatness. Please let Darabont make Lisey's Story! (Not sure who has the rights and I understand he is going to do The Monkey and possibly The Long Walk...so let's not press our luck, ha!).
     
    Neesy, Spideyman, Dana Jean and 2 others like this.
  15. kingricefan

    kingricefan All-being, keeper of Space, Time & Dimension.

    Did you ever see Darabont's short film The Woman In The Room? For a student film it's pretty powerful. Darabont definitely knows how to bring a King book/story to the screen without compromising King's 'voice' in the process.
     
    Neesy, Spideyman, Dana Jean and 2 others like this.
  16. Doc Creed

    Doc Creed Well-Known Member

    I saw it on YouTube. You're so right. That uncompromising commitment is the key.
     
  17. Starchild

    Starchild Heart of Darkness

    I've never seen the movie but I've read the book. I am scared of a lot of dogs, mostly large dogs and bull dogs. This is a very real fear. My neighbors often let their dog run loose around the block and it drives me nuts.
     
    GNTLGNT, Neesy and kingricefan like this.

Share This Page

Sleeping Beauties - Available Now