Novels like the Dark Tower

  • New to the board or trying to figure out how something works here? Check out the User Guide.
  • New 2019 Hours: The message board is closed between the hours of 4pm ET Thursday and 8:30am ET Tuesday.

    As always, the Board will be open to read and those who have those privileges can still send private messages and post to Profiles.

unclelouie

Well-Known Member
Jun 15, 2012
815
151
Lud
Was curious if there are any other novels similar to The Dark Tower by other authors? I know the DT series is a one of a kind, but I'd be interested to know if anything comes close at all?

Also, as far as SK's universe goes... what are some suggestions outside of the DT novels proper that are related to the DT, or similar to. I think I've already read em' all though. Eyes of the Dragon, Talisman, Black House, Hearts in Atlantis, The Stand... read em' all!
 

Walter Oobleck

keeps coming back...or going, and going, and going
Mar 6, 2013
11,749
34,798
I think...in that essay, whatever the title, On Nineteen...or On Being Nineteen...or somewhere else, King mentions Tolkien's work...as well as those who came after. I think he wrote about Donaldson's stories. Years ago I began to read The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, Stephen Donaldson. I'd read the 1st four as they came out. I enjoyed the stories. When I've gone to a used bookstore, I've looked for them again. Don't recall offhand the title of the first one, Lord Foul's Bane? Used copies must not sit around...and I don't really want to buy new. Had the 1st 3 in paperback, the 4th in hardcover. You could read a couple hundred or more reviews at Goodreads, be my guess, and the reviews are likely all over the board. But maybe if you read the description included by the publisher and a review or two, you can get a feel for whether or not the story is something you like. How about Dune? Have you read Rose Madder? At a glance at your list...I think that one should be included.
 

skimom2

Just moseyin' through...
Oct 9, 2013
15,683
92,145
USA
Yeah, Walter is spot on with Tolkein and Donaldson--'quest' sagas. or scope of story, you can't go wrong with Martin's "Game of Thrones" series. I've really enjoyed that one.
 

danie

I am whatever you say I am.
Feb 26, 2008
9,761
60,657
55
Kentucky
Yeah, Walter is spot on with Tolkein and Donaldson--'quest' sagas. or scope of story, you can't go wrong with Martin's "Game of Thrones" series. I've really enjoyed that one.
Here's a pretty good deal on Amazon for the boxed set of 5 "Game of Thrones" books for Kindle. Only $19.99.
Amazon.com: George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire Series): A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons eBook: George R.R. Martin: Kindle Store
 

Shoe

Ka 'n' stuff
Nov 7, 2011
503
777
Phobos
Here are some SK books that are DT related you seem to have left off:

As previously mentioned Rose Madder, also Insomnia and It are major ones. There are still many more that are partial or loosely tied.
 
  • Like
Reactions: blunthead and Neesy

SHEEMIEE

Well-Known Member
Nov 15, 2010
1,315
5,508
How about 'His Dark Materials' Pullman trilogy. It was made into a pretty lamo movie,but i actually enjoyed the 'alternate' london steampunk feel, and the switch between worlds.
 
  • Like
Reactions: blunthead and Neesy
The Institute - Coming September 10th, 2019 IT - Now Available in Trade Paperback! Flight or Fright - Now Available in Trade Paperback! The Outsider - Now Available in Trade Paperback!