1. New to the board or trying to figure out how something works here? Check out the User Guide.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Hot Topics is open from 8:30 AM - 4 PM ET Mon - Fri.

    Dismiss Notice
  3. The message board is closed between the hours of 4pm ET Friday and 8:30am Monday.
    As always, the Board will be open to read and those who have those privileges can still send private messages and post to Profiles.
    Dismiss Notice

What to read after the Dark Tower Series.

Discussion in 'The Dark Tower VII: The Dark Tower' started by Kacey Cunningham, May 27, 2016.

  1. Kacey Cunningham

    Kacey Cunningham Well-Known Member

    Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
     
    Neesy, AchtungBaby, Doc Creed and 2 others like this.
  2. Bev Vincent

    Bev Vincent Well-Known Member

    The Fireman by Joe Hill
    The Passage trilogy by Justin Cronin
     
    Neesy, AchtungBaby, Doc Creed and 2 others like this.
  3. GNTLGNT

    GNTLGNT The idiot is IN

    ...or expand your boundaries with the work done in the Marvel graphic novel series.....
     
  4. Walter Oobleck

    Walter Oobleck keeps coming back...or going, and going, and going

    If you haven't read everything King has written there's your answer. Or you could start in again with Roland. (that's a big dog!) :)
     
    Neesy, AchtungBaby, Doc Creed and 2 others like this.
  5. mal

    mal Well-Known Member

    Lord of the Rings trilogy.
    Harry Potter...
     
    Neesy, AchtungBaby, Doc Creed and 2 others like this.
  6. doowopgirl

    doowopgirl very avid fan

    I actually did read Lord if the Rings after I read DT. Just about did my head in.
     
    Neesy, AchtungBaby, Doc Creed and 2 others like this.
  7. Steffen

    Steffen Well-Known Member

    Usually when I get through a novel or two, I like picking up some short stories kind of as a "palate cleanser." So maybe some HP Lovecraft (if you're still in a horror vibe) or Oscar Wilde (his prose is exquisite). Better yet, read some of SK's short story collections. Start with Night Shift or Skeleton Crew.
     
  8. Doc Creed

    Doc Creed Well-Known Member

    Walking Across Egypt by Clyde Edgerton is really funny and an easy read. It will give you a change of pace. If you want another epic, start with Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry.

    More Stephen King? How about Joyland or The Eyes Of The Dragon? Both are basically one-track novels with a swift plot.
     
  9. staropeace

    staropeace Richard Bachman's love child

    Justin Cronin would be a great idea after Tower. WOnderful series for sure.
     
  10. not_nadine

    not_nadine Comfortably Roont

    I think you should re-read the series.

    You could not have possibly gotten everything. :)
     
  11. Neesy

    Neesy #1 fan (Annie Wilkes cousin) 1st cousin Mom's side

    11/22/63 - you obviously like fantasy in that time travel is involved in the DT series, so why not give this one a try? I think you would like it!

    11-22-63 Welcome.JPG

    Welcome to the SKMB :biggrin2:
     
    Steffen, Doc Creed and GNTLGNT like this.
  12. Kacey Cunningham

    Kacey Cunningham Well-Known Member

    I've read 11/22/63 absolutely LOVED that book. It amazes me how much Stephen can mystify me with every single book!!
     
    Neesy, GNTLGNT and Doc Creed like this.
  13. Kacey Cunningham

    Kacey Cunningham Well-Known Member

    Thanks guys for your suggestions. Will definitely look into them after some "amazon stalking" ha. But if I cannot get outta my reading rut I will for sure follow Roland once again as he follows the fleeing man in black. ;-)
     
  14. OldDarth

    OldDarth Well-Known Member

    Definitely The Fireman or any of Joe Hill's other books - Horns, NOS4A2.

    A real fun series is the Dresden Files - urban fantasy about a wizard/detective - 15 books so far!

    Also the Matthew Corbett series by Robert McCammon. Historical 18th century detective series with Corbett described as a proto-Bond character. Very pulpy. Very fun. The sixth book has just been released.
     
    Neesy and GNTLGNT like this.
  15. champ1966

    champ1966 Well-Known Member

    Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. One of my favourites.
     
    Neesy, GNTLGNT and Dana Jean like this.
  16. MadBoJangles

    MadBoJangles Well-Known Member

    I finished the Tower series this morning.
    I, too, am suffering from some kind of Mid-world hangover.
    I have The Fireman sat waiting to be read, End of Watch arriving in a week and feel too caught up in the Tower series to read anything else...
    Damn, it was good.
     
    Neesy, Kacey Cunningham and GNTLGNT like this.
  17. Kacey Cunningham

    Kacey Cunningham Well-Known Member

    I found reading, The Wind Through The Keyhole, gave me enormous peace with the series. It was simply wonderful to be back with Roland, Eddie, Susannah, Jake, and Oy as a Ka-tet again. Nothing will ever come close to this incredible series, but after reading TWTTK, I've been able to read again. Just finished Desert Places, by Blake Crouch. Give that one a try. :)
     
    MadBoJangles, GNTLGNT and Neesy like this.
  18. prufrock21

    prufrock21 Well-Known Member

    Try Gift From the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. And short read, and beautiful prose.
     
    GNTLGNT and Neesy like this.
  19. Kacey Cunningham

    Kacey Cunningham Well-Known Member

    I have about 200 pages left of The Fireman. This book is absolutely amazing.
     
    GNTLGNT and Bev Vincent like this.
  20. AchtungBaby

    AchtungBaby Well-Known Member

    Glad you're enjoying it! Apologies if you've answered this in the thread already, I've admittedly only skimmed - but have you read any other Joe Hill books? You can't go wrong with any of them, IMO!
     
    GNTLGNT likes this.

Share This Page

Sleeping Beauties - Available Now