What to read after the Dark Tower Series.

  • New to the board or trying to figure out how something works here? Check out the User Guide.
  • New 2019 Hours: The message board is closed between the hours of 4pm ET Thursday and 8:30am ET Tuesday.

    As always, the Board will be open to read and those who have those privileges can still send private messages and post to Profiles.

Kacey Cunningham

Well-Known Member
May 25, 2016
64
352
30
Chicago Area
Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
 

GNTLGNT

The idiot is IN
Jun 15, 2007
86,379
349,659
58
Cambridge, Ohio
Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
...or expand your boundaries with the work done in the Marvel graphic novel series.....
 

Steffen

Well-Known Member
Aug 9, 2015
2,214
12,674
Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
Usually when I get through a novel or two, I like picking up some short stories kind of as a "palate cleanser." So maybe some HP Lovecraft (if you're still in a horror vibe) or Oscar Wilde (his prose is exquisite). Better yet, read some of SK's short story collections. Start with Night Shift or Skeleton Crew.
 

Doc Creed

Well-Known Member
Nov 18, 2015
17,019
81,388
42
United States
Walking Across Egypt by Clyde Edgerton is really funny and an easy read. It will give you a change of pace. If you want another epic, start with Lonesome Dove by Larry McMurtry.

More Stephen King? How about Joyland or The Eyes Of The Dragon? Both are basically one-track novels with a swift plot.
 

Neesy

#1 fan (Annie Wilkes cousin) 1st cousin Mom's side
May 24, 2012
60,252
232,732
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
11/22/63 - you obviously like fantasy in that time travel is involved in the DT series, so why not give this one a try? I think you would like it!

11-22-63 Welcome.JPG

Welcome to the SKMB :biggrin2:
 

OldDarth

Well-Known Member
Jul 10, 2006
730
2,992
Canada
Definitely The Fireman or any of Joe Hill's other books - Horns, NOS4A2.

A real fun series is the Dresden Files - urban fantasy about a wizard/detective - 15 books so far!

Also the Matthew Corbett series by Robert McCammon. Historical 18th century detective series with Corbett described as a proto-Bond character. Very pulpy. Very fun. The sixth book has just been released.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Neesy and GNTLGNT

MadBoJangles

Well-Known Member
Jan 6, 2015
255
1,280
39
Thanks guys for your suggestions. Will definitely look into them after some "amazon stalking" ha. But if I cannot get outta my reading rut I will for sure follow Roland once again as he follows the fleeing man in black. ;-)
I finished the Tower series this morning.
I, too, am suffering from some kind of Mid-world hangover.
I have The Fireman sat waiting to be read, End of Watch arriving in a week and feel too caught up in the Tower series to read anything else...
Damn, it was good.
 

Kacey Cunningham

Well-Known Member
May 25, 2016
64
352
30
Chicago Area
I finished the Tower series this morning.
I, too, am suffering from some kind of Mid-world hangover.
I have The Fireman sat waiting to be read, End of Watch arriving in a week and feel too caught up in the Tower series to read anything else...
Damn, it was good.
I found reading, The Wind Through The Keyhole, gave me enormous peace with the series. It was simply wonderful to be back with Roland, Eddie, Susannah, Jake, and Oy as a Ka-tet again. Nothing will ever come close to this incredible series, but after reading TWTTK, I've been able to read again. Just finished Desert Places, by Blake Crouch. Give that one a try. :)
 

AchtungBaby

Well-Known Member
Dec 5, 2011
3,856
15,532
I have about 200 pages left of The Fireman. This book is absolutely amazing.
Glad you're enjoying it! Apologies if you've answered this in the thread already, I've admittedly only skimmed - but have you read any other Joe Hill books? You can't go wrong with any of them, IMO!
 
  • Like
Reactions: GNTLGNT
The Institute - Coming September 10th, 2019 IT - Now Available in Trade Paperback! Flight or Fright - Now Available in Trade Paperback! The Outsider - Now Available in Trade Paperback!