What to read after the Dark Tower Series.

  • New to the board or trying to figure out how something works here? Check out the User Guide.
  • The message board will be closed:
    From 3pm ET Thursday, August 16th to 8:30am ET Monday, August 20th.
    As always, the Board will be open to read and those who have those privileges can still send private messages and post to Profiles.

  • Hot Topics is on indefinite hiatus.

  • The message board is closed between the hours of 4pm ET Friday and 8:30am ET Monday.

    As always, the Board will be open to read and those who have those privileges can still send private messages and post to Profiles.

Kacey Cunningham

Well-Known Member
May 25, 2016
64
349
29
Chicago Area
#1
Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
 

GNTLGNT

The idiot is IN
Jun 15, 2007
81,643
313,272
56
Cambridge, Ohio
#3
Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
...or expand your boundaries with the work done in the Marvel graphic novel series.....
 

Steffen

Well-Known Member
Aug 9, 2015
1,975
11,161
#7
Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
Usually when I get through a novel or two, I like picking up some short stories kind of as a "palate cleanser." So maybe some HP Lovecraft (if you're still in a horror vibe) or Oscar Wilde (his prose is exquisite). Better yet, read some of SK's short story collections. Start with Night Shift or Skeleton Crew.
 

Neesy

#1 fan (Annie Wilkes cousin) 1st cousin Mom's side
May 24, 2012
57,099
210,497
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
#11
Hello everybody! Unlike a lot of people on here, I read the entire Dark Tower series in over a month. I have to say I am in a reading rut. I just cannot get into any book I try. I have not read, Wind Through the Keyhole, yet as I need time to digest all the wonderful books that came before it. I adore Stephen King and have read just about every book he has ever written. I was overjoyed with the Dark Tower series and miss the characters unbelievably. Do any of you guys have any suggestions on what book can take me away, and help me get out of my reading rut???
11/22/63 - you obviously like fantasy in that time travel is involved in the DT series, so why not give this one a try? I think you would like it!

11-22-63 Welcome.JPG

Welcome to the SKMB :biggrin2:
 

Kacey Cunningham

Well-Known Member
May 25, 2016
64
349
29
Chicago Area
#12
11/22/63 - you obviously like fantasy in that time travel is involved in the DT series, so why not give this one a try? I think you would like it!

View attachment 15778

Welcome to the SKMB :biggrin2:
I've read 11/22/63 absolutely LOVED that book. It amazes me how much Stephen can mystify me with every single book!!
 

OldDarth

Well-Known Member
Jul 10, 2006
722
2,899
Canada
#14
Definitely The Fireman or any of Joe Hill's other books - Horns, NOS4A2.

A real fun series is the Dresden Files - urban fantasy about a wizard/detective - 15 books so far!

Also the Matthew Corbett series by Robert McCammon. Historical 18th century detective series with Corbett described as a proto-Bond character. Very pulpy. Very fun. The sixth book has just been released.
 

MadBoJangles

Well-Known Member
Jan 6, 2015
252
1,259
38
#16
Thanks guys for your suggestions. Will definitely look into them after some "amazon stalking" ha. But if I cannot get outta my reading rut I will for sure follow Roland once again as he follows the fleeing man in black. ;-)
I finished the Tower series this morning.
I, too, am suffering from some kind of Mid-world hangover.
I have The Fireman sat waiting to be read, End of Watch arriving in a week and feel too caught up in the Tower series to read anything else...
Damn, it was good.
 

Kacey Cunningham

Well-Known Member
May 25, 2016
64
349
29
Chicago Area
#17
I finished the Tower series this morning.
I, too, am suffering from some kind of Mid-world hangover.
I have The Fireman sat waiting to be read, End of Watch arriving in a week and feel too caught up in the Tower series to read anything else...
Damn, it was good.
I found reading, The Wind Through The Keyhole, gave me enormous peace with the series. It was simply wonderful to be back with Roland, Eddie, Susannah, Jake, and Oy as a Ka-tet again. Nothing will ever come close to this incredible series, but after reading TWTTK, I've been able to read again. Just finished Desert Places, by Blake Crouch. Give that one a try. :)
 
We’ve created a Stephen King Library action for the 
			  Google Assistant and skill for Amazon Alexa. It'll give 
			  you a personalized reading recommendations based on your 
			  answers to a series of questions—so what are you waiting 
			  for? Find out which Stephen King book you should read 
			  next!