What to read after the Dark Tower Series.

  • New to the board or trying to figure out how something works here? Check out the User Guide.
  • New 2019 Hours: The message board is closed between the hours of 4pm ET Thursday and 8:30am ET Tuesday.

    As always, the Board will be open to read and those who have those privileges can still send private messages and post to Profiles.

Kacey Cunningham

Well-Known Member
May 25, 2016
64
352
30
Chicago Area
Glad you're enjoying it! Apologies if you've answered this in the thread already, I've admittedly only skimmed - but have you read any other Joe Hill books? You can't go wrong with any of them, IMO!
Yea. I have read everything Joe Hill wrote, except Horns… NOS4A2 is my all time favorite of Joe's books. The Fireman is absolutely excellent, and I will be finishing that book today! :)
 

dedMasque

Active Member
Jan 19, 2018
31
93
33
Kentucky
Lord of the Rings trilogy.
Harry Potter...
I think anyone with access to a Middle School Library has probably read LotR and most who were teenagers when it was written have probably read most if not all of the Harry Potter series. As well as The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and possibly Redwall and maybe even The Dragon Riders of Pern. Honestly, I would expand my boundaries. Settle on a genre and do a Google search to find out the top book or series in that genre and pick one.
 
  • Like
Reactions: GNTLGNT and Neesy

Neesy

#1 fan (Annie Wilkes cousin) 1st cousin Mom's side
May 24, 2012
60,213
232,489
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
I think anyone with access to a Middle School Library has probably read LotR and most who were teenagers when it was written have probably read most if not all of the Harry Potter series. As well as The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and possibly Redwall and maybe even The Dragon Riders of Pern. Honestly, I would expand my boundaries. Settle on a genre and do a Google search to find out the top book or series in that genre and pick one.
While I enjoyed The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe I just could not get interested in Lord of the Rings. I did read the first Harry Potter book which was very good.
 

mal

content
Jun 23, 2007
4,367
24,891
57
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
I think anyone with access to a Middle School Library has probably read LotR and most who were teenagers when it was written have probably read most if not all of the Harry Potter series. As well as The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe and possibly Redwall and maybe even The Dragon Riders of Pern. Honestly, I would expand my boundaries. Settle on a genre and do a Google search to find out the top book or series in that genre and pick one.
You canna expand your boundaries by settling on a genre. Be eclectic. You never know what you'll stumble upon!
 

CariNotCarrie

Member
Dec 11, 2018
7
23
33
After finishing the series after reading it off-and-on for 2 years (I took a big, long break after Wizard & Glass), I came back at it strong this year, reading Wolves of the Calla, Song of Susannah and The Dark Tower in just a few months. I read Misery shortly after struggling to find another book after the DT series, and even that was a labor of love to get through at times. I've just started Christine and I'm about 100 pages in and not really enjoying it as much. I guess I'm trying to say the Dark Tower novels are some of his best written work.
 

Moderator

Ms. Mod
Administrator
Jul 10, 2006
50,460
144,269
Maine
After finishing the series after reading it off-and-on for 2 years (I took a big, long break after Wizard & Glass), I came back at it strong this year, reading Wolves of the Calla, Song of Susannah and The Dark Tower in just a few months. I read Misery shortly after struggling to find another book after the DT series, and even that was a labor of love to get through at times. I've just started Christine and I'm about 100 pages in and not really enjoying it as much. I guess I'm trying to say the Dark Tower novels are some of his best written work.
Welcome to the Board!

Did you also read The Wind Through the Keyhole? It's either the last book in the series or sometimes referred to as 4.5 as it fits in between Wizard & Glass and Wolves of the Calla in the ka-tet's time line.
 

CariNotCarrie

Member
Dec 11, 2018
7
23
33
Welcome to the Board!

Did you also read The Wind Through the Keyhole? It's either the last book in the series or sometimes referred to as 4.5 as it fits in between Wizard & Glass and Wolves of the Calla in the ka-tet's time line.
Yeah, I read it following 'Wizard and Glass.' Cute little interlude between a sad book and one that showcases an epic stand-off.
 
The Institute - Coming September 10th, 2019 IT - Now Available in Trade Paperback! Flight or Fright - Now Available in Trade Paperback! The Outsider - Now Available in Trade Paperback!